Home > Eating Food, Ordering Food > Chick-Fil-A Combo Meal #1: Perfection

Chick-Fil-A Combo Meal #1: Perfection

While the South still has its fair share of issues (see, e.g., racism, homophobia, etc.), it holds a special place in my heart for molding me into the person I am today.  That said, it would take a great deal to convince me to move back.  One of the things that I really do miss is Chick-Fil-A.  If you didn’t grow up eating those delicious chicken sandwiches and nuggets, you have no idea how much you’ve been missing out on in life.  While Californians are always trying to convince me that In-N-Out is similarly life altering, there is absolutely no way In-N-Out can even compare with Chick-Fil-A.  Why?  Because once you have tasted perfection, nothing else will come close.

In order to compete in the fast food market, Chick-Fil-A has added to its menu over the years, but you need not go much farther than the first listed combination for a perfectly balanced meal.  There are many people, both on the internet and in real life, who will sing the praises of the Chick-Fil-A classic chicken sandwich.  While I can’t even express in words how much I enjoy them, there are some people who take it to the extreme.

The magically seasoned chicken, which is fried in peanut oil for added deliciousness, is sandwiched between a toasted, buttered bun.  A slight contrast is added by two sour pickle slices.  There is no need to add any condiments.  It is perfect as is.  Mr. Truett Cathy — I may not agree with you on many things ideologically, but I tip my hat to you for creating the best chicken sandwich ever. 

Waffle fries, which are salted just so, are an excellent accompaniment to the chicken sandwich.  They have been engineered to carry as much or as little ketchup as needed.  Rounding out the meal is another classic Southern treat — sweet tea.  Depending on location, your sweet tea will taste like tea that has been sweetened just so, or more likely, it will just be sugar water that has been colored brown.  (Yes, I know some of you prefer the lemonade or the half tea/half lemonade combo, but this is my blog and sweet tea is what you will get with combo meal #1.)

Every time I visit my parents in Georgia, I eat at Chick-Fil-A at least once every other day (except Sunday — all Chick-Fil-A’s are closed on Sundays, when you are most likely to have a craving).  Yes, I’m serious.  I have to take advantage of the access while I have it because the only Chick-Fil-A in New York City is located in an NYU dining hall.  My brother is partial to the chicken nuggets, which are actually just a meaty conduit for transferring dipping sauce into his belly (while BBQ and honey mustard sauces are available, he prefers the Polynesian sauce).

  1. July 13, 2012 at 8:20 PM

    I don’t even know how I finished up here, however I assumed this put up was great. I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger if you happen to aren’t already. Cheers!

  2. May 15, 2010 at 12:22 PM

    Wrong, Jess! Read the post again. Chick-fil-a is far superior than In-N-Out.

  3. Jess
    May 14, 2010 at 9:05 PM

    In-n-Out FOREVER!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

