Home > Making Food > How Does Your Garden Grow?

How Does Your Garden Grow?

Hello, faithful readers of Allegations of Deliciousness.  Did you miss me?  I’m sure you did, even though J. Frankfurter did a mighty fine job entertaining you in my absence.

I know I mentioned the possibility of posting while I was away in Cambodia, but I was too busy enjoying my vacation.  Now that I’m back at work and in front of a computer non-stop, you’ll get new posts from me about the trip in the next few days.  In the meantime, an update on the garden.

Earlier, when spring as just becoming summer, I wrote about my container garden for this year that I set up out on the balcony.  Overall, things appear to be going well, despite the awful heat wave that has defined New York City this summer.

As you can see, the tomatoes, cucumbers and jalapenos are this year’s winners.  I’m ready to make a nice salad and some guacamole this weekend.  I don’t want to jinx it, but it appears that those dastardly squirrels have been leaving my poor, little garden alone this year.

The parsley, chives, mint and Italian basil are all thriving as well.  The dill and cilantro, however, appear to be struggling.  I can’t figure out if it’s the heat or my under/over-watering.

Most of you will not be very familiar with the herb called “dap ca” in Vietnamese, but it is a staple in fresh spring rolls and many bun (rice vermicelli) dishes.  The clover-shaped herb with a sour and fishy after-taste is not to everyone’s liking, but dap ca happens to be one of my favorites.  My mom sent me some at the beginning of the summer along with some Thai basil and shiso, but only the dap ca survived being packaged, expressed mailed up to New York and replanted.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

